Saturday, June 28, 2008

Good News and Bad News

So, do you want the good or the bad news first?

Ok, I'll give you the bad news. Monday and Saturday. Those were the only days I worked out! Oh it was pathetic. Sure I was preparing to go to Detroit for vacation but oh my goodness, could I have been more lazy? It was simply ridiculous that with all the hours in a day I could not find 1 of them to go and work out. I just don't know what to say about myself. And don't let me get started on my diet. "OH THE HUMANITY!" My head is hung in shame :(

The good news is that both me and Trina managed to get the workout in on saturday and it was my best time ever! 14 minutes and 0 seconds and I still had a little left in the tank but since I didn't workout that much I didn't want to push to hard and injure my self.

Well were having a good time here in D'Town, Trina is at the hair dressers and I am watching the kids plus an additional cousin and my nephew. My vacation is getting off to a rocky start!

You guys stay focus and I'll see if we can't get motivated and bounce back this next week.

Weekly Mantra: I am a runner!
Nutritional Mantra: Less more often.

Friday, June 27, 2008

Lazy, lazy! Ugh!

Well, I completely sucked as a runner this week. I didn't run until this morning, which is absolutely awful! For some reason, I've just lacked motivation this week. But, I'm here today and I ran this morning, so I'm now on the upswing!

In other motivation news...I know this sounds strange, but I feel more motivated to get up if I sleep in my running clothes. It's pretty silly, but it works every time! So, I just need to find a few more comfy sports bras and life will be good!

Also, if you're looking for fairly inexpensive running clothes, Marshall's is the place to go. They have a pretty good sized selection of outfits that are reasonably priced (and cute--not that that matters, Tia)! Yay!

Okay, I'm going to be late for the last day (YAY!!!) of summer school, so it's time to go! :)

Good luck to everyone who's out of town! Hope your week has been more productive than mine!! See you all soon!! :)

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

MacKnitty is 45 miles and plus 5 pounds

So...

I don't really understand this, well I do but I am in perfect denial. According to my Nike+ system I am run a nice 45 miles. I am an average pace of 13 minutes 3 seconds which is way slower than my half marathon pace so I better do some faster running the the next week.

Maybe with the rest and recovery weeks upcoming I will bounce back stronger and better.

I am really disappointed in that scale of mine. 207 pounds! What the? I am not happy with it's performance. I am chalking it up to muscle mass (when actually I know it's that omelet I ate on Saturday and my birthday cake from yesterday). Well, I am big and beautiful and powerful. I am what they call in the runner's world Athena woman, a woman over 170 pounds.

This month has been dubbed the month o' gear for me. I have my new AMP+ which bombed on
me last Saturday but seems to be awesome on this week's runs.


Then I got me a fancy haute couture orange running vest----> (gag!), match with a running skirt it does not.

For my birthday, my hubsters got me a new set of running glasses, my others were a victim of 'CLEAN HOUSE'.

I knitted a new little pocket for my Nike+ system since I don't really care for Nike shoes. My favorite shoes were my shock shoes which now you can personalize for a whopping 120 bucks. No thank you. I would rather use that cashola on my new way to motivate myself...

by paying myself for every mile I run. Thus far I'm up to 8 bucks.

By the end I would have 198 in just weekly runs alone and 198 in long runs. So a total of 396 bucks that I could spend on a set of clothes, some fancy knitting stuff, a new iPod? Registration for my Alaska Marathon? A running jacket? A nice blue safety vest. I am truly excited about this new plan.

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

Who is she calling a monkey?

Was she referring to me? I think she was.

Week was good even though I was sick for a couple of days, and I am still feeling some after effects. But I still managed to work out 5 out of 7 days.

I'm blaming my performance on sat. on the illness. I had been improving pretty consistently until then.

Well we will be on vacation for the next 3 saturdays but we definitely will continue to work towards LVM '08. And we will continue to keep you guys updated via the blog.

Weekly Mantra: Mama said there will be days like this!

Nutritional Mantra: Ok, just this one!

Monday, June 23, 2008

Getting the Monkeys Off of My Back

Surprise!! Surprise!! Yes, I am posting a blog. The past week was not very productive for me. The only time I worked out was our Saturday run. I was not motivated and wanted to laze around and hang out with my friend. After the run, I think I have finally shook the monkey (and this post will shake the other monkey/blog police) and I am motivated again. I am not even worried about going on vacation and letting my workout slack off. I even has walking partners in Detroit. I am going to miss walking with you all the next two weeks. See ya!

Saturday, June 21, 2008

6/21- Groupies!

Whoa! This week we had SO many more people show up. Excellent job! More and more of us are also going to complete the full marathon.


Even with the earlier start time and new venue it was HOT! The heat has really begun to take it's toll out on our team. It full shows in the "at this rate" times.


We had several groups starting at several different times so I have an inconsistent timer, most of the time I guesstimate finishing times if I don't see them finish.




We are in desperate need of another water person or we will have to carry our own water on our backs and have MacKnitty's husband work every other mile. MacKnitty husband may also not be working the water stations either depending on his desire to run a half marathon with MacKnitty.


The upcoming month maybe a challenge for some people as they travel, hopefully they remain faithful to their training schedule.

We did have our little rogue Hellfire run the full loop running on pure endorphines she may have overextended herself. Drink lots of water Heidi!

Next week we begin a rest schedule with no increased mileage until July 26th.


ATR full


Tia- 6 hours 6 minutes
Maria- 6 hours 30 minutes
Earl- 7 hours 30 minutes
Jaime and Margie- 8 hours 7 minutes


ATR half
Katrina- 3 hours 55 minutes

Friday, June 20, 2008

MacKnitty is GUILTY

I've made lots of changes in my life and one big one is weaning myself off breastfeeding ( I know bad mom right but I wrote lots about that personal struggle in my personal blog and have come to terms with it).
I feel happier but more tired. I am hot and feel extremely fat which makes me want chocolate pudding or ice cream or Gelato.
Then I refocus myself and try to remember the long term goal.
The Nike+ system has really helped but now I'm struggling with waking up. I used to be an easy early bird but now I think I'm just the lazy worm.

Reviewing the blogs makes me think that it's a combo heat and summer thing. I am more focused during the school year because I can't afford to be off task and lose that time.

I will jog this evening. Heidi you are so funny- I like the morning jogging comments. I love jogging in the morning, please don't run me over.
:P
Peace, yo!

So Hot Outside!!

My energy level has been very low this week. The heat is really bothering me. I have been drinking a lot of water, taking naps ;-) and not going outside to much during the peak times of the day but, still I am feeling so tired.
Currently, I am finishing up my first week off. Next week will be free for me as well and then I start working for the rest of the summer again. I am going to be a nanny for three little girls 8 hours a day until school starts. I am looking forward to it.
A few days ago I took Quasi (puppy) around Ft. Lowell park running around the perimeter, playing in the water fountain, and walking through a field of birds. It was a blast to get out and since I decided to go after 6 pm in the evening that made a big difference with the heat. I am finding out I run/exercise better in the evenings. I have never been a morning person and getting up has been so painful for me! Sob...sob....must push harder!
I am heading to the Running Shop in a bit to buy the hat I have had my eye on. At that point I might look for other goodies. The Summit Hut also has a lot of hydration gels. I went in to check out the backpacking items and noticed the great selection.
I have jogged the river walk before and really like the environment and the people. Lots of people with dogs and kids. However, the hard core bikers are intense. We need to really keep our eyes open for the speeding bikers on the path! I have almost been run over.
When I bought my shoes (love them!) the guy at the Running Shop suggested we jog/walk Sabino Canyon!!! He said if we can do that we can do anything! Holy COW! I've only hiked it, walked it and biked half of it and that last hill is a killer! Let me know what you all think about that one!
See everyone tomorrow at 7 am!! I am leaving the pup at home considering she almost killed three people last week, a rollerblader, a biker and another lady jogging with a dog. OMG!

Jogging Quote(s) O' The Week:
"The trouble with jogging is that the ice falls out of your glass." ~Martin Mull

"I don't think jogging is healthy, especially morning jogging. If morning joggers knew how tempting they looked to morning motorists, they would stay home and do sit-ups." ~Rita Rudner

Ayuda por Favor!!!

Hola Amigos!

I am starting to feel a little bit out of shape. Sometimes I feel like I am not trying my hardest and I don't want this feeling. I really want to run this marathon and there is no time to loose, I need to continue my path. Summers are nice and this is the best time to do it. I need fresh air and a clean, bright spirit....... Reading your blogs encourages me to keep going, but sometimes is hard........But I WON'T GIVE UP!!!!

See you guys this Saturday!!

Goal: run 3 times a week for 40 minutes.
Diet: Healthy food, no soda, no chocolates, lots of greens and carbohydrates.

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Another one bites the dust!

Another Saturday completed. Another week completed. It feels good. My running is better. Although my time doesn't show it, my physical recovery time has increased and I don't ache everywhere after I run. Still having issues with that pesky Achilles tendon, but other than that my body is starting to deal with the strain. I'll continue to do strengthening exercises until the end of June, and at that point I'll focus on the cardiovascular. I have gotten back down to 285 which is 6 lbs less than where I started and I am really excited about that because less weight will make running easier.

I'm excited about the change of venue, that golf course was getting more and more tempting. Another Saturday and I would have been playing hooky. Although I will miss Chick fila...mmmmm mmmmmm!

By the by, I have been investigating running shirts for the group and I think we need to confirm colors and styles, I am going to try and have a couple of samples if not this weekend definitely when I return from vacation. I'd like to have something by the beginning of August, I think it will help motivate.

Weekly Mantra: The race is not given to the swift or the strong, but he that endures to the end!!!

Nutritional Mantra: I said, I'll just have a SALAD!

LVM '08 or bust!

Monday, June 16, 2008

6/14- 3 miles and a water stop (you know like 3 men and a baby?)

Raptor Runners are awesome!
More awesome than awesome.
This week Coco, Rascal, Dolce, Earl and MacKnitty tackled that 3 mile loop around Reid Park. It was HOT!
Luckily, we were smart enough to do 2 things:
1) Start at 7AM
2) Have a water station

Thank you to our small support team consisting of MacKnitty's husband and sister.
We are beginning to see the spread in how people will begin to come in during the marathon as the distance increases.

It was nice to see our little support team including Hellfire who ran half the loop with her sweet puppy, Quasi.

Welcome back to Coco who after a time was AWOL but is back with avengence.

Next week we will be completing 4 miles.


ATR full
MacKnitty: 5 hours 15 minutes
Dolce:
Earl: 6 hours 50 minutes
ATR half
Rascal: (Rascal was so fast that she finished before us and I didn't get a time on her but since she went the opposite way, I am sure that in someway mathimatically you can figure out what her time was. It's one of those if MacKnitty left town at 4pm and Rascal left the other town at some other time, what time will they cross paths? Who knows? The SAT does.)
Coco: 2 hours 58 minutes

Thursday, June 12, 2008

Stay Focused!

176 days until... LVM '08

Monday, June 9, 2008

Ready to Run!

I've been incredibly excited about this whole marathon thing since the get-go, but the execution of my training has been a little lackluster. I'm doing awesome with the whole "eating well" thing, as I've been working really hard on that for the past 16 weeks! It's the physical part of this that's been a little slow. While I've made it to every Saturday run (except the very first one), I have not been doing as well at sticking to my weekly schedule on my own. I've maybe been training one or two days a week up until this point. This week...things are going to change!!

I busted my iPod two weeks ago, so when 301 money came in on Friday, a new iPod was my first purchase! On Saturday, I bought the Nike+ system for my iPod, as well as a new pair of sneaks! On Sunday, I decided that I didn't like the new sneaks, and so I bought another pair. At this point, I am DONE with purchases! :)

Anyway, this morning was my first run/walk with my Nike+ system and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! It was so nice to have my music back and to have a pleasant voice remind me of my progress throughout my workout. I'm quite dorky, and so I was thrilled with uploading my data and watching my Nike+ mini become more active! Yay! I also programmed my training program into my website so that I can hold myself accountable for it! At this point, I'm looking forward to watching my progress climb on all of the little graphs because I know that I can only get better from here!

This week, I've also gotten very ambitious and decided that I am going to go for the full marathon in December! I have my mileage up there at this point to be able to continue training for it, I just need to work on getting faster! I plan on participating in a few "virtual" races and CATwalk prior to the Vegas race and I'm really excited! I know that I can do it mentally, it's just a matter of getting there physically! I'm looking forward to gaining strength and endurance!

I'm Still Excited!!!

THE GOOD

I was briefly in the lead on the saturday run, briefly.

It's been 6 weeks and I'm still standing, I'm still strong! I worked out 5 days this week according to schedule. Accumulated totals are below:

12 miles biking
6 miles walking
2 laps swimming (Oh my god! Swimming is hard!)
2.5 hours weight training
1 hour elliptical

My clothes are fitting better, I look better in the mirror, and I have a lot more energy (when I'm not tired from working out! ). My goal saturday was to run 1 of the two miles non stop, and walk the other mile. Although I only accomplished .5 miles I call it a success.

THE BAD

I am coming in last place on the saturday runs, dagnabit!

My right ankle and achilles tendon are still sore. They don't bother me much while I'm walking/running but afterwards they are sore. What worries me more is that my calves are still tightening up during the run/walk, and this limits my efforts. I am putting ice on my heels everyday even on days I don't work out and icing and stretching my calves as well. I'm monitoring the situation closely.

THE UGLY

I am still coming in last on the saturday runs, but don't sleep!

290 lbs :( After having lost 5 lbs, I have gained 4 back. I am quite sure that I am building muscle which is adding to the bottom line, but it is discouraging to see the scale going the wrong way. When I stop weight training in a couple of weeks I am sure I will see things going in a more positive(negative) direction. Losing the weight, I believe, will also help with my calves tightening as well. We'll see.

WHAT'S NEXT?

I am going to step up my nutritional goals and start cutting back on the sweets....I know, I know, it's about to get serious. Not eating after 6 and eliminating the sodas has been relatively successful for the past month, but it's time to build on that and take it up a level. I have incorporated swimming into my workout plan. The rollout was somewhat lackluster, but I think it will be worth the effort. My schedule for this week:

Monday: Walk 4 miles, Weight Training 30 minutes
Tuesday: Bike 4 miles, Elliptical 30 minutes weights 45 minutes.
Wednesday: Bike 4 miles, Elliptical 1 hr.
Thursday: Weights 1.5 hrs
Friday: OFF
Saturday: 3 miles
Sunday: OFF

Food Mantra: I'll just have a salad.
Weekly Mantra: Beat the Sweep!

Sunday, June 8, 2008

Rascal Fell A Little Flat....

Well.... with my little side kick Mr. Joshua biking next to me around the loop on Saturday, I fell kinda flat. I'm not sure why, but it was really hard for me to get around the loop. Normally I would go around without stopping but this time I had to stop for a few seconds. I hope it was just an asthma thing. I know next week will go better...

I am really looking forward to this marathon that we are all setting out to do... I've never been much of a runner and I was always the slowest one on my soccer team. My goal is to finish this half marathon with Nate, only stopping to get some water...

I will get a taste of what we are getting into when I go to Vegas at the end of the month (my first time!!) I am excited to see where we will be running and I really think it will help give me that extra motivation to keep moving! Also, I got some new running shoes and can't wait to break them in!

Go Raptors....

P.S.- I really like that we are all doing this together because like you all know, the only people I really know in Tucson is from Rivera, so it's so nice to spend time together when we dont see each other everyday anymore!

NO EXCUSES!!!!

This is my very first time blogging... lets see if I do it right!

I regret so much not making it to the Saturday runs... I will NOT make excuses, but I agree with Heidi... when it's not one thing it's another, especially in the summer. I am happy to report that I have been walking/running during the week and I'm proud to say that although it IS on the treadmill I can run up to 1.5 miles...that is the most I have ever ran without stopping. I will continue to run that and next month I will try out my endurance on the street. I have also been pretty good as far as eating healthy goes. I just have a hard time keeping the healthy eating habits during the weekend! As some of you know I will not be returning to Rivera next year, but I hope I'm still considered part of this awesome Marathon Team! Thanks Tia!

Thursday, June 5, 2008

STRETCH!

This morning I hurt myself.........I'm okay!

Can't just start working out all willy nilly anymore. Have to warm up and stretch. Your mind might say you can, but your body is saying something altogether different.

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Oooo, great running skirts!

Hello again fearless Runners! I just wanted to share this website. Right now they are having a sale on running shorts and cute running skirts -19 bucks! Check out the website out if you can.
I love the bathing suits! Yikes! www.athleta.com
~H.H.

Obstacles here and there.....


Well, I am a little frustrated with my summer running routine so far. It seems like every Saturday morning/afternoon I have family, friend and fiance commitments. And I don't have any kids yet!!! Just a new puppy who is walking with me twice a day and we adore her (see pic)!!!!

Tia, our fearless leader seems to have a mantra..."No excuses" .....this is great! However, I still feel like I am falling short on making the team running meetings and I feel like, for some reason I am letting people down. I workout on my own often and at times feel like exercising is a solitary sport. This might help me learn how to workout with friends.

The only time I did run with the ladies, and man (Yeah, Earl oh and Amanda's bf) I really enjoyed it. There is another mantra I think I need to work on. SAYING NO! As an educator, we give it our all, all of the time. And saying "yes" and taking on to, to many responsibilities has been a habit of mine. I think what I need to learn from this is to choose what's important and all else comes next. Being healthy, and working out has always been a priority of mine. I even just bought a spanking new sports bar that does it's job well! ;-)

However, (especially this year) I feel like that has gone by the wayside. I have gained three pounds and feel it! I weigh the most I have ever weighed at this point in my life and feel sluggish. My mom said, "Heidi why are you doing this marathon thing" I told her...because, I know I can do it....I want to finish. She wants to shed a few pounds and I have invited her to be a part of our Saturday walk/runs.

As it turns out this weekend my fiance, his parents and I are driving to Flagstaff Friday late afternoon for a graduation celebration. I am again missing a Saturday run, and our trip to buy spanking new running shoes.

So, tomorrow I buying my shoes and tomorrow evening I am running around the UofA campus to try them out. NO EXCUSES! I love the UofA since it is so close to my house, I can even bike there as a warm up.

Again, I feel very lucky to to surrounded by such strong, supportive teachers. I appreciate you all. I am proud to be part of the team! YEEEHAAAWWW!

Yes, I Can

I agree with Earl, I also want to thank Tia for taking the time to organize our meetings and for encouraging us to keep a positive mind. This has being a great experience. I have always being very active, but for some reason for the past 2 years I haven't done much. This idea of "running a marathon" has inspired me to keep doing what I like to do, but most important to keep my body healthy. My husband is very happy to see me working out since he has always encouraged me to do so.

I got to say that this experience has given me the opportunity to meet such nice, very easy going, flexible, and understanding people. It is always fun to see you guys on Saturdays! The company is definitely making this experience a lot easier.

Earl, I have good news for you. A non-female, but teacher will come this Saturday to run with us; my husband. Even though he is a teacher he doesn't act like one.

See you guys soon!
Yuma .......Yes, I can!

Weekly goal: Run 2 times this week (15 min.)

The Core

The core group has gotten into a nice routine. We wait until a group forms and begin the run
shortly after.

MacKnitty/Tia, Ticket, and Yuma took a nice run/walk 1.75 miles out and back.

Dolce and CHICKA walked and raced to the end to beat Earl. You can see them finishing in the second picture.

The weather is heating up and the sun is beginning to beat down on us.


Most of us are still finishing strong. Rascal has been super active and has been running the full 3
miles around but today struggled with her asthma.

MacKnitty and Earl are still on track for the full marathon. Soon, they will be working on twice the mileage as the rest of the group.

Our meeting focused on getting some t-shirts made with a little running raptor (Earl made sure that the boa option was cut).
ATR Half
Dolce & CHICKA= 3 hours 2 minutes
Ticket, Yuma= 2 hours 48 minutes
Rascal= 1 hour 52 minutes
ATR Full
Earl= 6 hours 20 minutes
MacKnitty= 5 hours 6 minutes

Weekly Quote:
There will be days I don't know if I can do a marathon. There will be a lifetime knowing that I have.- Greg Kuhl

Monday, June 2, 2008

Five Pounds to Freedom!

I would first like to say thanks to Tia for noticing that my hard work is paying dividends. I have lost 5 pounds (Currently 286lbs). Unfortunately, after Tia asked if I had lost weight, my head "swole" and I gained 2 lbs back almost instantly!

We had a good post run meeting I enjoyed myself, and I am starting to get the hang of this being the only dude thing. Although I am actively recruiting a non-female non teacher member. The post run conversation was dominated by teacher stuff! And while it was interesting and fun to listen to, it is a long time until Dec 6.

Last week's stats (total):

4 miles of bicycling
6 miles of walk/run
3 miles of elliptical (1 hour)
1.5 hours of circuit training with weights
Too many sodas :(
Only 2 days where I ate after 6.

This weeks objectives:

Monday - Bike 4 miles, Elliptical 1 hour, Circuit training weights 30 minutes
Tuesday - Walk 4 miles
Wednesday - Bike 4 miles, Circuit training weights 1 hour
Thursday - Walk 2 miles, Swimming, first time will have to evaluate how much. African Americans don't do water well :) I'm just sayin'

Friday - Off
Saturday - 2 mile run
Sunday - Off

This is probably the last week or maybe one more week, and then I won't be lifting weights for a while. I am carrying a lot of weight, I needed to build strength. But I am going to cut back and go more cardio. Also now that the pool is open going to get some swimming in, unfortunately I swim like a rock, I think it has something to do with the level of melanin in my skin, but I am going to try anyway. I'll let you know how it goes.

Weekly Mantra: Get back Up!