Thursday, July 31, 2008

Naked Running


Today I did what I call Naked Running. No ipod, no water bottle, no gear. Just me and my shoes and my dog.


I listened to my breathing, payed attention to my feet lift off the concrete, felt my heart in my chest. I ran harder than I have in a while. It felt free and natural.


I listened to the coyotes in the wash and saw the sun rise. It was a beautiful run.


It's going to be a good day. See you on Saturday when I may buy a jogger. Enjoy!

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Tiger-Tiger Woods, Yo!

So, I ran 3 miles before my first day of Induction today!!! And...at the end of the run, Tiger Woods came on and congratulated me for running my fastest mile yet!!! 11:44...with an average pace of 12:46! Go, Me!! :)

Hope everyone's week is off to a great start!! :)

Monday, July 28, 2008

The Best Watermelon Ever!

It was a good week of 5 pretty intensive days of training. 4 out of 7 days I kept my caloric intake at or under 2500 calories. Also, I established an official time of 14:46 minutes per mile, and I came in at 1.4 lbs under my goal of 284.4. My goal next week is 282 lbs and shave six seconds off my time(baby steps).

I felt good running, at least for the first mile and a half, and while my muscles were 'fatigued' to put it mildly, I still felt I had some remaining lung capacity. Also, my recovery period was the shortest it has ever been. In fact, I really had to struggle on Sunday to keep from going and working out and allowing my body to fully recover. The post workout aches and pains just did not last as long, and that more than anything else was the most exciting part!

Unfortunately, I still came in last. Getting beat by a bunch of women and teachers on top of that, just has not been soothing to the ego! But I have the 'Audacity of Hope' to believe that one day I will at least be able to keep up.

I enjoyed the run, but I come to realize that the post run meeting is just as, if not more, important than the run itself. It is a really good time for us to come together and complain about all the hard work, plan for our trip to 'Vegas, and just sit around and shoot the breeze. To me it is like therapy to help motivate me to make it through the next week. Misery does love company!!!

We had a pseudo continental breakfast. I know there is nothing in Sahuarita so we wanted to do something to sooth the inconvenience of having to come all the way down there. It turned out not to be too expensive so I have decided to do it again this week with a couple of changes to the menu. We had fruit(watermelon, pineapple, grapes, strawberries), mini cinnamon rolls and orange juice (Thanks Tia). The strawberries didn't move well so I am striking them from the menu. I was thinking of adding a cantaloupe or honeydew, but I don't like either of those so I'm not, sorry. I am also going to replace the mini cinnamon rolls (no nutritional value) with heart healthy Cheerios and 2% milk. If anyone wants to bring something healthy feel free.

Finally, on the last Saturday in Sahuarita I am contemplating having a Pancake Breakfast to show my appreciation to the team. It is in the preliminary phase (I still have to discuss it with Trina). I'll discuss it with Trina and see what kind of response it gets from the team and we will see what happens.

P.S. There was nothing leisurely about my 5 miles!


Weekly Mantra: Age ain't nuthin but a number!
Food Mantra: You are what you eat!
I've been slacking on my training especially during our vacations! With school starting just around the corner I am VERY motivated to get up early and get my runs in. I ran 2 miles this morning!!!! I thought it would take me more than half an hour but I was out and back in 25 minutes. I will take a watch tomorrow and make sure I run out for at least 20 minutes and then run back for a total of 40. Then I'll check what the distance is. I'm just celebrating the fact that I got up at 6am!!!! I am NOT a morning person so this is VERY hard for me. I noticed my knees didn't hurt at all like when I ran the Rillito. I think the gravel was what hurt me. Thanks Tia AND Earl for all the motivation! I love reading Earls blogs!!!! Keep up the good work!!!!

Sunday, July 27, 2008

7/26- On this episode of LOST

This week on LOST:

Chicka gets lost in Sahaurita.

Chicka was the only Halfer this week. After telling her to turn around at the water stop or at the halfway point, she was sure not to get lost. BUT...

MacKnitty failed to take her chalk with her AND Chicka turned the wrong way! When we returned and found No Chicka we panicked and sent Earl out on a rescue mission.

MacKnitty called Chicka several times out on the course but she never answered. MacKnitty being the new mom, of course thought the worst and pictured Chicka tied up in the back of a van with masked kidnappers yelling at her while hauling her off to Mexico. So MacKnitty and Dolce hopped into our BatMobile (shiny silver Camry- loving called Need for Speed) to rescue Chicka. No luck.

Finally a phone call from the hostage, cryptic, "Don't know where I'm at...bathroom...wrong way...phone dying." What could this mean?

When Chicka finally returned, we rejoiced!! Yay!! Her phone had died on her and she missed the water stop and arrow to turn. Instead she took the scenic route around the neighborhoods of Sahuarita. After consulting the map we determined that she may have walked a total of 6 miles! Go Chicka!

------


In other news:

The shirts were completed and revealed with our fancy logo and team mascot. Our colors are royal purple and white with black accents. Since most of our participants were from our school we chose to use our school mascot, the RAPTOR. Next year we may choose another mascot as our group grows and expands with new participants from different schools. All active members received a t-shirt.

Each t-shirt also has the person's name on the right sleeve. MacKnitty wears it after and prior to the runs due to the sweaty nature of her.

----------

This week's 5 milers for the fullers was awesome. Many of us were in awe of ourselves afterwards. We completed 5 miles!!! WOW. Everyone looked strong and we all came in within 4 minutes of each other. Nice leisurely pace.

Earl detailed his strategy this week: Every time he saw Dolce he would run. Dolce had the same strategy for keeping pace with MacKnitty. It seemed extremely successful and we didn't lose anyone to heat or distance.

Success!

ATR full
5 hours 43 minutes

Monday, July 21, 2008

Phase Two

With the help of a stomach virus I managed to lose 3 of the 4 lbs I picked up over vacation. However, I believe the virus left me in a weakened state so my saturday morning run suffered a little. But on a positive note my achilles tendon held up well with very little pain afterwards. I think my regiment of stretching and ice is starting to pay dividends.

The week starts the next phase of my training. The focus is now more on cardio vascular endurance and less on building strength. So now there are 3 components to my weekly goals. A training component, a weight component, and a time component. Saturday I will establish my first official time and in subsequent weeks I will have a time goal. I will also take a page from celebrity fit club, and set a weight goal every week. And I will continue to strive to complete my 5 days a week training schedule.

Time: Establish base time.
Weight: (286.4lbs) Lose 2lbs.
Training: 5 days

Weekly Mantra: Wait'll they get a load of me!
Food Mantra: Get your hands up and step away from the table!

Thursday, July 17, 2008

Hit Me with Your Best Shot!

I've been feeling really good lately but recently after our last Saturday run I felt a little toe pad pain like I overextended my foot. Then my left ankle felt like I sprang it. What the dealio?

I was too afraid too run on Monday and Tuesday. On Wednesday, I took it easy with a 2 miler and there was not pain in either foot. I was so happy. Thank you. I guess it's my phantom injury.

I haven't been hydrating correctly and skipping out on my 8 cups a day. Sometimes only getting in 6 :(

My diet has been doing well. I feel good about my choices and enjoy making new food everyday. Who knew I would really like eating mashed cauliflower? I am slowly switching out the Slim Fast shakes with Spirutien protein shakes, same amount of calories but more vitamins. Chicka says that I shouldn't take pictures of my food anymore because they look so sad. But I think I'll take more tasty pics instead so she doesn't get sad for me.

This weekend is an easy 3 miler (I couldn't wait to get to this point where I say, JUST 3 miles), I am aiming to increase my base of 3.03 miles during the weekdays to 3.5 miles.

I am also loving my Nike+ system. It's so fun to hear how fast I am running and to play my PowerSong which is Intergalactic by The Beastie Boys. I love it when they say, "I run the marathon to the very last mile."

Next week we've got a 5 miler! Ahhh... it's getting deep. I'm excited!!!!

Monday, July 14, 2008

The Total Damage.

4 lbs. I lifted weights 11 out of the 18 days we were on vacation, however, I only walked or ran on 3 of those days. Unfortunately, I drank more sodas than I can count and my eating habits were atrocious to put it mildly. As a result, over the course of my 2 week vacation to Detroit I gained a total of four pounds.

On the positive side, I have been feeling so good about my progress lifting weights that I have extended my schedule out to 1 more week of lifting before I eliminate heavy lifting from my workout plan and focus more on the cardiovascular. Besides this week is only a 3 miler so it should work out.

So I am going to "turn it up a notch" on both my cardio and eating habits and see if I can't get those 4 lbs back over the next 10 days.

Also, I'm looking forward to you guys coming to our neck of the woods here in Sahuarita. I'll see if I can be as meticulous as Tia and go put the mileage marks around the lake. We can have the post-walk meeting at Trina's house, and I'll see if I can supply a little healthy breakfast fare.

:D

I RAN THIS MORNING!!!!

That is all.

Sunday, July 13, 2008

**FiZz**

So, um...yeah...the motivation has been a little sparse since my return from vacation! I completed my long run while out of town last week, but then didn't run the remainder of the week once I got back. Boo, me! :( So, it was no surprise that today's run kicked my booty! But, it was a much needed wake-up call to get my tail in gear!

Having realized how difficult it is to run when I haven't been training, I'm now a bit more determined to workout during the week so that I can be in good shape for my Saturday runs. I also added finances to the mix by officially registering for the October 19th Nike+ Women's Half-Marathon. It's paid for and official, so now I need to get myself there (and only I can do that)! I'm ready to get up early on Monday and hit the pavement!

Also, if you have the Nike+ system, be sure to check out the Nike+ Human Race 10K coming up next month! The race day shirts are now available online and are totally AWESOME!!! I can't wait to put in my order!

Happy Running this week!!! :)

Monday, July 7, 2008

7/5 Two by Two

This week was a super small group. Rascal and I were the only two out on the River Path this week.

Many of our group were out and about traveling and what-not, while MacKnitty stayed to watch the town.

This is the last week for the water stop so it's a fend for yourself deal now that MacKnitty's hubby is on his own training schedule for an upcoming bike race.

ATR full
MacKnitty: 5 hours 59 minutes
ATR half
Rascal: 1 hour 50 minutes (WHoA!!!)

Sunday, July 6, 2008

Add another engineer!



So, sorry for the disappearing act!!! Miss you guys!


The last two weeks have been insane for me. A few weeks ago I ended up running the river run and starting on the "wrong side" of the street. It was fine for me, I figured I would run into someone at some point.
I warmed up, drank some water then started off. I can get really crazy...4 plus miles later!! I ran the entire loop. I saw Amanda and she laughed and said, "Good luck" ;-) as I passed her. I think she thought I was just starting. I really surprised myself. My fiance Josh, is a runner and told me I needed to push a little harder. I am scared of injury since I have weak knees so I must admit I have been "gentle" on my body. Tia said, "be careful," as I passed her..feeling okay, I decided to head back to the car, grab my water just in time to make it to my friend Nadya's house to help her shop and do decorations for her wedding. I re hydrated and felt okay.

UNTIL that early evening. I was dizzy and developed a migraine. I felt really horrible. Josh told me he thought I needed to rest and take a cool bath that night. I felt better the next day but, I still felt exhausted.

So, the last two weeks I have been running a few miles when my nanny job ends in the evenings. Taking it really easy. Last Saturday I had an appointment in the morning with Melissa P so I missed our group run and this past Saturday I woke up bright and early for Nadya's wedding! I got my hair done (hour and a half!) fun! It went really well. It rained a bit then skies cleared just in time for the ceremony to finish.

The reception was at Hacienda Del Sol and was wonderful. All that work paid off and she was very, very happy. It seems like my Saturdays are my busiest days. I WILL be at the river this Saturday. Later however, I am driving up to Phoenix with my mom and sis for our annual IKEA shopping trip! Happy-happy-joy-joy! I am hoping to find some neat/cheap wedding items for myself!

AND I am also thrilled to announce the NEW addition to the group....my fiance! He has been in two marathons before and wants to start up again. He ran in high school as well. His sister Lynn is 40, with three kids and has lost weight and looks amazing training for the T.M. this year. She has talked Josh and I into the Phoenix Marathon, P.F. Chang Marathon and possibly the San Fransisco Marathon. (Yea, not so sure yet!) This is her new pass time. She has been in a few and loves them.

I have found out If I drink water while running I fell much better. And if I carry a small energy bar or my Cliff "Shot"to consume it also helps. This next weekend I hope to go up to 6 miles. I am also running again at the Tucson Racket Club. I took a break for being a member for two months and now I had to start it up again since I missed it so much.


"If God invented marathons to keep people from doing anything more stupid, the triathlon must have taken Him completely by surprise." ~P.Z. Pearce


Till next time! I have missed you and hope to see all of you this Saturday!
~Hellfire

Friday, July 4, 2008

BAM!

As Emeril would say! BAM!

Heck yeah- eating right makes you faster. Hmmm.... how much faster you ask yourself?

Like 30 seconds faster!

WHAT?!? you say.

Hells yeah, I say!

(Okay enough already)

So I've been on the SLIM fast for 2 days and the research says that the meals you eat 2 days before your run are the ones to focus on because it takes your body that long to digest and make that food into energy.

So it's been 2 days and today's run was at an easy 12 minute 10 second pace! Holy crap! And it was easy and my dog had some digestion problems (read lots of stops) and it was so humid!

I am proud of myself, I even was able to pull it together for dinner out, grilled chicken, lite apricot sauce, salad lite dressing, broccoli and tomatoes.

I did cut the portions in half and only eat half. A little splurge on a glass of wine but who can blame me?

I feel great and I am glad to have some discipline in my life.

On the Menu today:

Breakfast: Slim Fast Shake and small whole wheat bagel with strawberry jelly.
Bottle of water
Snack: Graham crackers and a banana
Lunch: Ham and Cheese Sandwich, pear, Slim Fast shake
Bottle of water
Snack: Crackers and Carrots
Dinner: Pesto Rubbed Chicken, Oven baked potatoes, Spinach
Bottle of water
Snack: Peaches and Cottage Cheese



See you tomorrow 6AM and hopefully 30 minutes faster.

Thursday, July 3, 2008

Shout Out!

Let me first give props to MacKnitty for coming to the realization that diet is extremely important to weight loss. And although I was well aware of the necessity of managing my dietary intake, I failed to parley that knowledge into productive eating habits. It's funny because right before I came down to look at the blog I commented to Trina that I needed to go on some type of diet. Action is necessary! (Motto for next week.) Unfortunately for me my step mother in law has purchased several pounds of ribs, steaks, and several side dishes in preparation for the 4th of July, and I would hate to dissapointed by not partaking in the culinary festivities. So, my diet will officially start tomorr....when we come back from vacation, yea.

So I applaud MacKnitty's spirit and dedication and I will be following your lead as soon as I return!

Go Raprunners!

Wednesday, July 2, 2008

How fast is SLIM?

Well... there comes a time when you can't swim in DENIAL anymore because you have come to the end of the river.

I am overweight by many, many pounds. At first I shrugged it off as baby weight, then muscle than I rationalize to myself that my running will burn off the pounds. But in reality, DIET trumps Exercise so...

MacKnitty is on a diet. Ack! I'm on the Slim Fast Diet eating 1700 calories a day and I don't think that incorporates Chili dogs:( and Diet Coke :(

but there comes a time when you have to decide that your health and body are more important than the Diet Coke fix.

In actuality, Slim Fast isn't so bad. Today the first day and after the grocery shopping last night I saw how much crap I was actually eating (too much). My cart was mostly veggies and bread so that was good.

Today's Menu:
Breakfast- Slim Fast shake
Snack- 10 wheat crackers, 10 baby carrots
3 bottles of water
Lunch- Slim Fast meal bar, spinach orange salad3 bottles of water or other no-calorie beverage (Crystal Lite baby)Snack- 10 tortilla chips and salsa and apple
2 bottles of water
Dinner- Halibut, grilled veggies, garlic toast1 bottle of water
Snack/Dessert- 1/2 cup cottage cheese and 5 sliced peaches
1 bottle of water

So it's actually a lot of food.
But when you put it on display it all looks so bland and sad (it's for my health, it's for my health).
For everyday I'm on track I give myself 50 cents to add to my marathon fund. It's going to be really tough with tonight being the movies and all! Maybe a Diet Coke and my slim fast bar or something.
Hopefully less weight will equal fast pacing for the marathon.